Perfection: The Enemy of Good Enough

I am a firm believer in the adage that if something is worth doing, it’s worth doing right. But I also believe that sometimes good enough is better than nothing, in most cases anyway.  There is something to be said about simply taking care of business and getting things done.

It pays to be adaptive and to make the best of what you’ve got to work with at the time. I have put off a lot of projects over the years because I wanted things to be “just right” and for whatever reason – usually an issue of time or finances or skill – the projects simply never got done.  In looking back I can see that in the big picture I would have probably been better off with the “good enough” approach.  In all those instances I let perfect get in the way of good enough and ended up with nothing as a result.

I’m older now, and I like to think wiser as well, and I’ve come to the realization that “perfect” is truly in the eye of the beholder and it is really more a matter of opinion than fact. What is perfect to me might not be perfect to you and vice-versa.  You might hate my “perfect” recipe.  Your “perfect” tool might feel weird in my hands.  My “perfect” home décor might make you cringe…  See what I mean?  Perfection is subjective.  Don’t let it stand in the way of what you want and what you need to accomplish.

This is not to say you should do sloppy work or cut corners – especially if it happens to be a life safety issue, but I’m of a mind now that something IS better than nothing. If you embark on a project or a purchase and it’s the best you can do right now, then that’s going to have to be good enough.  Points for effort and all that stuff, right?

A man that’s been a huge influence on me over the last few years is fond of saying “Just get s#it done” and it took me a while to come around to his way of thinking. But yeah, in the long run it’s better to get s#it done than to sit around thinking about all the reasons you can’t do it now.  Analysis paralysis is a very real phenomenon and I have let it get in the way far too often.  Don’t let that happen to you!  As someone else once said to me “You’re gonna think yourself to death!”  Sometimes you just gotta say enough is enough and do the best you can today and stop worrying about the perfect way to do something.

Thanks for reading!

~J

Leave a Reply

